

Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ Metro-3 Corridor

Marathi Bhasha Samvardhan Fortnight – Organized by MMRCL Dr. Vijaya Rajadhyaksha regales 100-strong officials at the closing ceremony

Mumbai, January 16, 2020 – Dr. Vijaya Rajadhyaksha reminisced Kusumagraj (Jnanpith Puraskar Awardee Vishnu Vaman Shirwadkar, an eminent Marathi poet, playwright, novelist, short story writer) and Marathi Gazal Samrat Suresh Bhat (noted Marathi poet) and regaled the 100-strong officials from the Mumbai Metro Rail Corporation (MMRCL) at the closing ceremony of the Marathi Bhasha Samvardhan Fortnight organized by MMRCL, yesterday evening.

The crowd present was simply stunned to listen to the 86-year old Sahitya Academy Awaree Dr.Vijaya Rajadhyaksha as she recited Kusumagraj's "Anant aamuchi dhyeyasakti anant un aasha kinara tula pamarala" and Suresh Bhat's "Laabhale aamhas Bhagya bolato Marathi".

Dr. Niranjan Rajadhyaksha – an economics scholar who frequently participates in policy discussions at the finance ministry, Reserve Bank of India and NITI Aayog – had his take on Marathi language as he pointed out that, "We need to make an effort at volumizing Marathi content on various search engines such as google for next generations to keep Marathi relevant". Dr.Niranjan also suggested MMRCL to "make use of Metro stations' walls to keep Marathi and Marathi literature abreast". He further said that London and New York Metros keep their literature and authors alive by using Metro station walls.

Ms.Ashwini Bhide, MD, MMRCL, assured both the Rajadhyakshas of keeping the Marathi flag flying at the Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ Metro-3 project. "One of the stations on the corridor is already named Acharya Atre station and we will continue to make efforts to keep the project Marathi friendly".

During the Marathi Bhasha Samvardhan Fortnight, from January 1st to 15th, various competitions – Marathi essay writing, poem writing, slogan writing and oratory – were held and there was huge participation from not only the MMRCL staff but also from top officials, what with Mr.A.A.Bhatt, Director (Systems), MMRCL, reading his speech in chaste Marathi and drawing heartfelt response from the staff.

Prize Winners -

Slogan Writing - 1) Nupur Chitte. 2) Amol Patil. 3) Manish Dusane. 4) Krutika Babbar

Essay Writing – 1) Mayur Kadam. 2) Nabha Shirodkar. 3) Vishwas Ajnalkar

Poem Writing – 1) Tejaswi Salve. 2) Rahul Gije. 3) Nayan Bhatiya. 4) Yogendra More Oratory – 1) Nupur Chitte. 2) Dikshant Meshram. 3) Amol Patil. 4) Bharati Sharma

(Ends)

For further media queries please contact

Rajesh Konduparti +91 8469834515 Rajesh.konduparti@perceptindia.in